Blogging

Awards Season (Part Deux)

So the second part of my awards posts is very overdue.

This award come from the delightful guys over at Tiny Expats. They are adventuring and raising a family and write really cool stuff with great (as in cute as hell) family pics. Huge thanks!

So to the award itself.

Here’re the rules:

Show the award on your blog.

Thank the person who nominated you.

Share seven facts about yourself.

Nominate 15 blogs.

Link your nominees’ blogs, and let them know.

versatile-blogger-award-5

 

To the seven facts!

1) I climbed to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro when I was 18.

2) I support Gloucester Rugby Club. Not a great season this year but them’s the breaks.

3) I have stepped foot on every continent except North America and Antartica.

4) I can tell someone to go f— their mum in Cantonese.

5) I once tackled someone so hard in a game of rugby that I split their scrotum.

6) You know that knife thing Bishop does in Aliens? I can do that.

7) I used to have massive amounts of hair and would whirl it around whilst playing my guitar on stage (normally to a crowd of seven people and a guide dog – man that, guide dog could neck a pint).

8) It took me three attempts to get a C grade in GCSE maths and so, to this day, I struggle with numbers.

 

To the blog nominations:

Tienny is an unusual blog in that is sits between a blog and a window into a new way of delivering challenging higher order concepts to young people. No, come back. I work a lot with conceptual problem solving and creative approaches to challenges and there is some great stuff here. If I was a budget holder, I’d spend money here.

Snarky as hell but great to read is Wanda. I am spectacularly rubbish at commenting on her blog, but when I get a chance I love to read as much as I can. Well worth checking out.

If I ever get the chance to go to Vancouver I will try to get David at Vancouver Visions to take me around. His posts are like a gentle walk around with someone who notices all sorts of unusual stuff. Just a wonderful space on these here internets.

I’ve only recently started to follow Mabe at Mabe, With Love but I can see her blog becoming a fast favourite. She writes about trying to be as ecologically conscious whilst being a mum and it makes me feel a) glad someone is showing the way and b) bad that I am generating more baby-related landfill than a major European nation.

Ruth at Lemon in Cambodia is a far better human being than I. She’s writing about working with some majorly disadvantaged kids in Cambodia and writes so well about her experiences. Often moving, sometimes funny, always great. The world would be a better place with more people like her in it.

Narami at de monte y mar is a kind of photo/life/everything blog (so…a normal blog). Her Tuesdays With Texture series is great and often includes some cool macro shots of slightly unusual things.

Far funnier than I will ever be is Dad Of Frankenstein. Very, very funny with a great eye for the absurdities of being the partner to a pregnant woman and now, as a dad.

Another dad blog I like (but am shamefully bad at keeping up with) is Dan over at Dad Duties Activated it’s nice to see a guy going through the same stuff I did but having (obviously) a different take on it all. Thoughtful and interesting to the last.

For a joyous mix of photography, poetry and prose you should head to Bethula – she is fab and loves the outdoors. I always feel like I can get out of Bangkok vicariously through her blog. Straight up great.

I’ve nominated Tom at Old England to New England before and damn it I’m going to do it again. It’s my blog and you’re not my mum (unless you actually are my mum, in which case I’ll call at the weekend). Tom’s blog is a great look at an Englishman living in the States. Funny and thoughtful at once – it is superb. I often wonder how they cope with his strong Devonshire accent and am looking forward to the post on this that will hopefully be coming soon.

Please go and check these guys out – they are all brilliant!

Cheers again to Tiny Expats.

 

10 thoughts on “Awards Season (Part Deux)

  1. I truly do thank you for the honor that you have bestowed upon my humble page, and though I have an award-free Blog these days, and thus, must respectfully decline this offer, I would be more than happy to show you and yours all the wonders of my favorite city any time you decide to grace our fine town with your presence. 🙂 I do thank you for thinking of me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awwww, you think I’m snarky? That is so sweet! LOL! Thanks for the awesome words and nomination! I’m going to check out some of the other blogs you nominated as well. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: *Holding flowers on stage* Thank you, thank you! | de monte y mar

Leave a Reply

